Liz’s Weekly Poetry Series: Adios 2012

by lizard

We may not make any best-of lists here at 4&20 Blackbirds, but it’s still an immense pleasure for me to express my opinions and share poems with the readers who stop by. Thank you.

This has been a tough year on many levels. I hope the poems I feature offer a bit of balance to the consistently critical political posts I write, though admittedly much of the poetry I select isn’t necessarily about butterflies and sunshine.

In that vein, my final post of 2012 features a poem by Joy Harjo, from her book She Had Some Horses (Thunder’s Mouth Press, 1983). Enjoy, and be safe.

*

The Friday Before The Long Weekend

You come in here
drunk child
pour your beer
down the drain,
“apple juice”,
bullshit.
I can see you,
I can see
you, what you
are doing to yourself
is something
I can’t sing about.
I can point
to the piss yellow
drops in the sink.
I can see the stagger
in your eyes
glasses askew
your voice loud
cawing
uncertain bravado
and you come in here
to be taught
to take writing
but hell,
what can I teach you
what can I do?
Something shaky and terrible
starts in my belly.
The sour reality rolls over
in my throat.
I can’t do anything
but talk to the wind,
to the moon
but cry out goddamn goddamn
to stones
and to other deathless voices
that I hope will carry
us all through.

—Joy Harjo
Liz's Weekend Poetry Series:  Nature

  1. d.g.

    Thanks for posting. Wish she had avoided the abstract “reality” and found a concrete image instead. “Sour” used as a noun might have functioned well.

  1. 1 Liz’s Weekly Poetry Series: Anticipating April | 4&20 blackbirds

    [...] Adios 2012 [...]

  2. 2 152 Poetry Posts to Celebrate April, National Poetry Month | 4&20 blackbirds

    […] Adios 2012 […]




Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Recent Comments

    Paul Davidson on The Right Reverend Harris…
    lizard19 on America’s Institutional…
    Mark Tokarski on The Correlation Between Fear a…
    Mark Tokarski on Libya: Another Example of Impe…
    Matt on America’s Institutional…
    Eric on Libya: Another Example of Impe…
    Mark Tokarski on The Correlation Between Fear a…
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,525,086 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,325 other followers

  • December 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,325 other followers

