Thank You, and Stay Tuned

by lizard

Before launching into another post, I would like to thank everyone who reads and contributes to 4&20 Blackbirds. I’ve recently read a few posts from the glory days, and it’s bittersweet seeing the names of people who used to be fixtures here.

I always jump to read a post from a byline other than mine, because it’s rare these days, and I’m not altogether comfortable with being the driving voice of a blog that boasts an impressive roll call of past contributors.

Lately, I’ve hit a ridiculous stride with posting, possibly a bit obsessive/compulsive. I blame Twitter and my lack of self control. There is simply too much happening, but I doubt daily posts is a pace I will keep up.

For now I’m going strong, because even in moments of trying to just watch a silly movie, I find inspiration.

For example, I watched Olympus Has Fallen tonight, and boy howdy, there was some serious carnage.

I’m a bit hazy on the plot, but it has something to do with an elite North Korean special ops kinda deal breaching the White House and taking the president hostage. The antagonist wants to unify Korea and inflict nuclear armageddon on America. That’s the gist.

My favorite part of the movie is when the former secret service traitor has his moment of reveal with the president. The president asks this traitor how much money it takes to be a traitor, and the traitor responds by asking the president how much it takes for Wall Street to buy the presidency, or something to that effect. It’s hilarious.

Luckily, before being executed, this traitor is given the opportunity to repent. It’s very moving.

I’ll probably expound on this later, but if you want to get a head start, read Christmas Time on Wall Street, another frank dispatch from Mike Whitney.

I mean, goddamn.

Stay tuned.

  1. JC

    Thanks for holding down the fort, liz! You’re doing a great job, and I’m proud of all that you do for our community, and this blog! Glad I can hold down the left flank a little bit and give you some cover once in a while. As to all those long-gone commenters and writers? All things must pass…

    • lizard19

      having this outlet is damn critical for my own mental health, but I’ll always remember what initially intrigued me about this forum, and it was the nuts and bolts coverage of local issues and the subsequent comment threads. I learned a hell of a lot, and continue to learn from those who comment.

      anyway, it’s a pleasure compiling info for posts and pushing poetry on our readership. for that, and so much more, I’m eternally grateful.

  2. larry kurtz

    Darmok and Jalad on the ocean.

    • lizard19

      Whitman and Ginsberg throwing logs on the bonfire…

  3. Your unique, creative take on things is in my opinion a big step up from where 4&20 began. There was a predictability that lacked your constantly adjusting zoom lense. A stovetop chef cooking up tasty morsels of local details folded gently into “big picture” stuff, all simmering on low heat. Very tasty, meistro. Thank you.

    • lizard19

      you are very welcome, Steve.

  4. Steve W

    I too miss the contributions of some of the past more prolific writers, but i’m very glad to have your stuff to read, Liz.

    Thanks for sharing with us, your readers. It’s a very cool gift you bring and it’s appreciated by many, myself included.

  5. Pete Talbot

    Keep up the good work, Liz. BTW, I caught that Olympus Is Falling movie. Pretty lame, IMHO. In reality, if the North Koreans had launched such an attack, we would have bombed them back into the Stone Age.




Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Recent Comments

    Kirsten Pabst, Misso… on Serious Ethical Questions Surr…
    problembear on Serious Ethical Questions Surr…
    lizard19 on Serious Ethical Questions Surr…
    problembear on Serious Ethical Questions Surr…
    Big Swede on Will War in Ukraine Lead to a…
    Big Swede on Connecting Ukraine to Cliven…
    JC on Will War in Ukraine Lead to a…
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,473,737 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,199 other followers

  • Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,199 other followers

