Archive for March 21st, 2008

by Rebecca Schmitz

What’s the good of writing for a local blog if you can’t use it to crow about your close friends’ accomplishments?  That’s why I’m tickled pink to post a link to my friend Molly Murphy’s interview with Skylar Browning in the Indy this week about her show at the Missoula Art Museum, Reservations Required. Since my art criticism skills are rather rusty, I’ll just quote from Browning’s article:

Local artist Molly Murphy, a descendant of the Oglala, Lakota tribe, chose beadwork as her primary medium, making her an anomaly in the contemporary art scene. “I’m not a full-blood, I’m not a traditionalist, I’m not obsessed with authentic materials or reproducing something,” she says. “In the end, I had to find a more authentic way to tell my story.”

The exhibition of her gorgeous beadwork with a contemporary message runs through May 24th on the third floor of the MAM.




  • Pages

  • Recent Comments

    Miles on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    success rate for In… on Thirty years ago ARCO killed A…
    Warrior for the Lord on The Dark Side of Colorado
    Linda Kelley-Miller on The Dark Side of Colorado
    Dan on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    Former Prosecutor Se… on Former Chief Deputy County Att…
    JediPeaceFrog on Montana AG Tim Fox and US Rep.…
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,696,256 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,733 other subscribers
  • March 2008
    S M T W T F S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Categories