UM President Royce Engstrom Sure Has Been Reaching Out

by jhwygirl

It started June 1st with Montana Public Radio news director Sally Mauk’s interview of Royce Engstrom. You can download the podcast here or stream it from the Montana Public Radio newsblog.

It’s quite clear from that interview that even now, Engstrom hasn’t been able to separate the facts from his own defensive and inaccurate version of events. Listen as Mauk corrects Engstrom when he attempts to make it sound like the police were aware of the rape and sexual assault by the Saudi student prior to his university-facilitated escape back to his home country.

I also appreciate how Mauk calls out Engstrom when he touts his successful investigations which resulted in a number of students removed from campus – and into our community.

KECI has been touting an upcoming interview with Engstrom.

Tonight, in perusing KGVO’s website (AM 1290 here in Missoula), I find that Peter Christian’s Talk Back will be hosting University of Montana’s Royce Engstrom on Wednesday Morning.

Talk Back is a short half-hour local talk show, done from 8:30 to 10 a.m. every weekday morning. In reading KGVO’s website, Engstrom was invited to “to answer your questions about the campus and a host of recent University related events.”

Lovely. Do make sure to listen and call in on Wednesday morning, Missoula….and Montana. 406-721-1290. I know I’ll be listening.


  1. Adam

    I believe Talk Back actually airs from 8:30 until 10:00. The time slot you referenced airs the morning news updates.

    • No.

      ~jhwygirl

    • Correction – yep…thanks Adam. Sorry about that.

  2. Jon King

    Hey jhwygirl, thanks for checking out Talk Back today, hope you liked it. If you’re interested in coming on the show sometime let me know. It would be fun to talk to a local blogger. You already know my number, I’m usually in studio from 10 to 4.
    – Jon from the Talk Back show

    • Thanks Jon for commenting, especially considering how I screwed up the time. I wish I could blame it on..say,..a weekend beer or something, but I was working on a few posts at the same time with lots of other distractions and I didn’t get things right.

      I also don’t have an editor (clearly), so I appreciate your kindness (and Adam’s, above.)

      I only caught the first half hour when you were talking about property taxes, unfortunately. Talk back is a regular drive time show for me, though. Regrettably, I wasn’t driving (thus I missed the Engstrom segment.)

      And you know – I’ve actually called in a number of times, but I’ve not used “jhwygirl” name. Last time was back in the spring when you were talking about social security and deficit reduction.




Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Recent Comments

    Jon Tester’s G… on Senator Tester Backs Wall Stre…
    Digging Deeper: Exam… on A visit from a Montana Na…
    Washing Ton on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    Manitou springs on The Dark Side of Colorado
    C. Willie on American Poets: Robinson …
    C. Willie on American Poets: Robinson …
    bretagnebk on The Dark Side of Colorado
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,636,133 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,732 other followers

  • June 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Categories


