A Response to the Dismissal of Lori Ann Cole’s 13th DUI

It’s not the story of the Billings woman who got her 13th DUI charge dismissed, it’s this response in the comments from CodyFromCowboyCountry you have to read:

*

An Open letter to Lori Ann Cole:

You don’t know me but I am the driver that shares the road with you. Although we have never met, I think of you often. I try to spot you recklessly coming toward me before it is too late, but I also know your driving is not within my control, and if I am in the wrong place at the wrong time you will simply kill me. As miserable as you may feel because of your alcoholism and your life, when you kill me or my child you will feel much worse. But by then it will be too late.

I want to remind you that in addition to the people you will slaughter in my car, you will have painfully changed all the lives connected with me and turned your community against you in ways you can only now imagine. There will be nothing you can do to take back what you have done.

I understand you may have given up on your own life but I would still like to live mine. My letter to you is not about getting help for your addiction, your obvious pain or the trauma I suspect you have endured up to now in your life. I am sure many other people have talked to you about this already. What I am saying is that when you choose to drink and drive you are holding a loaded weapon to my head and to my family and I don’t like it. By being impaired in your car you are running through the street with a deadly weapon. It is only a matter of time before whatever luck you have had up until know by not killing somebody runs out.

After thirteen DUI convictions I can feel fairly certain your life is out of control. Some people who finally wind up murdering others by driving drunk manage to turn their lives around; others do not. In either case, I am not volunteering to be your worst consequence.

Please do all of your drinking at home.




    Leave a Reply

      • Pages

  • Recent Comments

    Angry vet 88 on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    Washing Ton on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    Angry vet 88 on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    Angry vet 88 on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    Breakdown Assistance on A visit from a Montana Na…
    Even more ICYMI camp… on The Montana Republican Party B…
    Jon Tester’s G… on Senator Tester Backs Wall Stre…
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,640,473 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,734 other followers

  • July 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Categories


