Judging the Judicial Judgement of Montana Judges

by lizard

Build it and they will come is a phrase commonly used by the bandwagon against revamping homeless services. I’d like to transpose that logic to Montana’s various court systems.

How are Montanans going to address the influx of statutory rapists and discontented bridal murderers in the aftermath of barely any jail time for either charges in those two cases (yet)?

I’m a big fan of old, white men judges retiring. I’m also a fan of judges who face election, like Kathleen Jenks.

Why reelect Judge Jenks? Here’s some messaging on that:

When I took the bench I told people that my goal was to leave Municipal Court in better shape than it was when I started. We all want to improve what is around us and make a lasting impact on our community, our profession, and our world. During my time on the bench, I have greatly improved Municipal Court, and by doing so, I have improved the community of Missoula. However, there is still much progress to be made. Missoula Municipal Court has come a long way, but I believe I can take it further.

So it is with pleasure and anticipation that I announce my candidacy for Missoula Municipal Court. I have been overwhelmed by the support I have already received and I thank you for your support in November.

For more of the backstory you can read:

Missoula Treatment Courts Got Jenks’d

Missoula Lockup

Judge Orders Municipal Court to Impose NO Jail time for Violating City Ordinances

and

How About Some Good News




    Leave a Reply

      • Pages

  • Recent Comments

    Jon Tester’s G… on Senator Tester Backs Wall Stre…
    Digging Deeper: Exam… on A visit from a Montana Na…
    Washing Ton on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    Manitou springs on The Dark Side of Colorado
    C. Willie on American Poets: Robinson …
    C. Willie on American Poets: Robinson …
    bretagnebk on The Dark Side of Colorado
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,636,092 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,732 other followers

  • September 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Categories


