Liz’s Poetry Series: Dancing in Odessa

by lizard

I’m not going to link to the pictures of charred bodies coming from Odessa. News of ‘dozens’ dead—actually 43 and counting—in a building fire is enough.

Who knows what this means, who did it, who died.

Thinking Odessa, I consulted Ilya Kaminsky’s book Dancing in Odessa (Tupelo Press, 2004) and I’ll let the first poem speak for itself.

*

Author’s Prayer

If I speak for the dead, I must leave
this animal of my body,

I must write the same poem over and over,
for an empty page is the white flag of their surrender.

If I speak for them, I must walk on the edge
of myself, I must live as a blind man

who runs through rooms without
touching the furniture.

Yes, I live. I can cross the streets asking “What year is it?”
I can dance in my sleep and laugh

in front of the mirror.
Even sleep is a prayer, Lord,

I will praise your madness, and
in a language not mine, speak

of music that wakes us, music
in which we move. For whatever I say

is a kind of petition, and the darkest
days must I praise.

  1. 1 160+ Poetry Links for National Poetry Month | 4&20 blackbirds

    […] Dancing in Odessa […]




Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Recent Comments

    Former Prosecutor Se… on Former Chief Deputy County Att…
    JediPeaceFrog on Montana AG Tim Fox and US Rep.…
    Jhawkinstx on Thirty years ago ARCO killed A…
    Jhawkinstx on Thirty years ago ARCO killed A…
    ups on Former Chief Deputy County Att…
    Former Prosecutor Se… on Former Chief Deputy County Att…
    William Skink on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,647,855 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,738 other followers

  • May 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Categories


