Archive for July 12th, 2012

by lizard

I finally zoomed myself up highway 200 for my first dip in the Blackfoot today. It was glorious. After scoping a spot to stash my pack, I peeled off my T and stepped unsteadily on stones, crotch deep. The first submersion of the seasons always takes a bit of build up before the fuck it moment of plunge. After that, it’s all float and kick.

Every time I travel up 200 I think of Greta Wrolstad, a young poet who died while sitting shotgun in a car turning left to go to Johnsrud.

I never met Greta, but we shared a mentor. Her tragic but sadly not uncommon fatality on a Montana highway snatched this young woman just getting started with her verse, her life. I imagine the poems that will never be written will forever ghost the margins of those who knew her.

(there’s even a little bit of funding now pegged to her name)

After zooming back from the river, I grubbed down with the wife and kids, then, after dinner, we took a family bike ride to campus.

Amidst this haunt of water-sucking collegiate green grass, I ran across her rock. No, her stone.

20120712-214313.jpg

*

navigating by horizon. In our throats a strange
thirst persists. Perhaps there would be an end.
Comes a shoreline. Comes a harbor—a river. And
our identities come back in horror at the
river’s mouth that pleads for more silt, more
sand, refuses to slide clean to the sea. At the
river’s first bend we come ashore, and on
that shore, stones. Smooth, diminishing stones.

 

–Greta Wrolstad

20120712-221003.jpg




  • Pages

  • Recent Comments

    Miles on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    success rate for In… on Thirty years ago ARCO killed A…
    Warrior for the Lord on The Dark Side of Colorado
    Linda Kelley-Miller on The Dark Side of Colorado
    Dan on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    Former Prosecutor Se… on Former Chief Deputy County Att…
    JediPeaceFrog on Montana AG Tim Fox and US Rep.…
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,696,487 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,733 other subscribers
  • July 2012
    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Categories