Archive for March 11th, 2012

by lizard

With this weekly poetry series, I’ve expressed my opinion about the distinction between song writers and poets (that post was less of a polemic than it was a petty gripe), but I haven’t really expressed my deep love for music, of all kinds.

This past week I’ve been working on a list poem using primarily musicians and band names from my personal collection. The list reflects the title of my first radio show as a local KBGA dj—the Schizophrenic Friday show. Though I had some reservations at first about the required playlist I had to include in my lineup, I came to really enjoy the sometimes odd juxtapositions that came into play. Lately, for some reason, I’ve been feeling nostalgic about my time on air playing music for Missoula. I wish I had the time to get back to it, but I just don’t right now.

Music, though, has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. And there’s something very powerful about how an unexpected tune that pops up on the radio (or, more likely, on my shuffle) can lead one to grandiose thoughts of the universe’s ability to speak through the musical medium; that maybe music touches on a deeper set of vibrations that underlies the bits of ephemera that float through our lives, day in and day out.

So enjoy the poem, enjoy this little sneak peek at spring we’ve had this past week, and let this post be a break from the incessant political chatter many of us choose to expose ourselves to on a daily basis. Continue Reading »




  • Pages

  • Recent Comments

    Miles on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    success rate for In… on Thirty years ago ARCO killed A…
    Warrior for the Lord on The Dark Side of Colorado
    Linda Kelley-Miller on The Dark Side of Colorado
    Dan on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    Former Prosecutor Se… on Former Chief Deputy County Att…
    JediPeaceFrog on Montana AG Tim Fox and US Rep.…
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,696,532 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,733 other subscribers
  • March 2012
    S M T W T F S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Categories