Liz’s Late Weekend Poetry Series: Cutbank

by lizard

I didn’t get to writing this weekend’s poetry series in time, so here’s me catching up. I should also note that, because of a change in my work schedule, this weekly series will more than likely be posting Sunday(ish).

Last Thursday I attended a reading/fundraiser for UM’s literary journal, Cutbank. If I had known about this event earlier, I would have certainly done my part to promote it.

The evening featured Lois Welch reading a piece about her husband, James Welch, and how he went from creative writing student taking classes from poet Richard Hugo, to being featured on the cover of the New York Times book review, and Michael Earl Craig, who read poems from his book Thin Kimono, a weird chapbook, and some brand new poems. It was a great evening.

One of the special treats the audience of the fundraiser got to see (at the Tophat) was a sneak preview of a trailer to Winter in the Blood, a novel by James Welch getting the big screen treatment (and shot mostly on the Hi-Line).

Anyway, Michael Earl Craig is ridiculous in a way the defies explanation. Here is a short poem from his collection, Yes, Master (Fence Books, 2006). Enjoy!

*

ACQUAINTANCE

I dropped a smoked almond on the plaid carpet.
The robin loomed large
when in fact he just sat in the yard.
It’s been a while since I’ve ridden a bike.
When men are idle they’ll hold a hand to their face.
I actually saw a beaver the other day.
REO Speedwagon over the p.a. made me feel like weeping.
A restaurant where the paint was still drying.
My waitress with the hands of a newborn baby.
She pointed to things on the menu,
reached over to my menu and gently pointed,
tapping with her baby finger. Fish-n-chips.
I looked at her and paused.
A spring tuber literally sunned itself in my mind.

—Michael Earl Craig



  • Pages

  • Recent Comments

    Miles on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    success rate for In… on Thirty years ago ARCO killed A…
    Warrior for the Lord on The Dark Side of Colorado
    Linda Kelley-Miller on The Dark Side of Colorado
    Dan on A New Shelter for Vets or an E…
    Former Prosecutor Se… on Former Chief Deputy County Att…
    JediPeaceFrog on Montana AG Tim Fox and US Rep.…
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,696,350 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,733 other subscribers
  • February 2012
    S M T W T F S
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    26272829  
  • Categories